Press Release for the New IBHE-SAC Board:


Stephanie Torres, a student at Northern Illinois University (NIU), has been elected as the new student member of the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE).Torres was chosen by the Board’s Student Advisory Committee (SAC) at its June meeting. She graduated from the College of DuPage with an Associate’s of Science and an Associate’s of Applied Science in Nursing. She is pursuing a Bachelor’s of Science in Public Health at NIU. While at the College of DuPage, Torres served as the Student Trustee as well as being elected Student Body President. Torres also served on the Illinois Community College Board as the student board member during the 2015-2016 fiscal year.

Justin Provo was elected by SAC as the nontraditional student representative to the Board. He is attending Roosevelt University and is a senior majoring in economics. Provo holds an Associate’s of Arts from Harper College, where he served as captain of Harper College’s National Championship Ethics Bowl team in 2015. During the 2015-2016 academic year, Provo represented Roosevelt University at the IBHE-SAC.

Daniel Heylin has been elected to serve as the Student Advisory Committee’s Executive Chair for the upcoming year. Heylin is a senior at Illinois State University (ISU), with a major in History-Social Sciences Education. He is President of the Student Government General Assembly, and an executive board member of the ISU Academic Senate.

Michaeljon Greene, a student at DePaul University, was elected to serve as SAC’s Executive Secretary. Greene is a sophomore pursing a double major in Film and Television (BFA) with a focus on Creative Producing and Screenwriting. He is the Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs for DePaul’s Student Government Association.

SAC leaders 16